Am I a Freshman or a Transfer?

<p>Okay, my situation is very non-traditional and I haven't been able to find much on the internet to clarify.</p>

<p>I want to enter a 4 year nursing program. From the top. No transferring in or any of that waiting list BS.</p>

<p>But since I graduated high school, I have not been enrolled in college. I have taken a few community college courses while working and traveling. (I took a bit of a gap year). I currently have 6 credits, and I'm in the process of completing 9 more online. </p>

<p>The issue is that I don't want to transfer in to a nursing program, but I'm not sure if I qualify to apply as a freshman. I technically haven't been enrolled in college since graduation, but I do have credits to transfer. </p>

<p>Now, if I can enroll as a freshman on the condition that these credits could not be used, that would be okay with me. But is that possible to do? Or am I stuck in community college for another 1.5 years doing all of my pre requisites and gen eds before I can transfer in (maybe.. if I'm even accepted) to a 2 year nursing program at a university. </p>

<p>I have a 4.0 in the college classes I took, a 2030 SAT, and a 3.7 HS waited average with all IB classes. I'm sure I could get into a nursing program SOMEWHERE in the country as a transfer halfway through, but I want to get into a good program and I don't want to spend any more of my time at community college. </p>

<p>Thanks in advance guys!</p>

<p>In our family’s experience, you would apply as a freshman since you were not a full-time student at CC. D had 15+ credits earned at CC during high school, and entered as a freshman. </p>

<p>We did attend one open house with another kid, where someone asked about entering with almost 24 credits of AP and CC work. In that case, the Admissions Officer responded that the student probably would not be admitted as a freshman and would not be eligible for freshman scholarships/grants. I would guess that situation was unusual.</p>