Any thoughts on the Sport Administration Program?

<p>I'm a transfer student from CA and was interested in applying to the U. It's quite difficult to find information on the program on the web and was wondering what you guys think. How are the internships? Is it highly regarded? Thanks.</p>

<p>id really like to know this as well</p>

<p>Are you coming from CA too? Or are you just interested in the program?</p>

<p>Sports Admin Program is one of the best. It’s a small school with a lot of athletes. </p>

<p>I know that a required “course” is an internship in sports. The Uni helps you find an internship with the Dolphins/Marlins/Heat/Panthers/ or the school itself.</p>

<p>I’m sort of interested in this as well, but I’m wondering how practical it would be. It has to be good program since it’s the U. </p>

<p>I might combine it with political science or econ.</p>

<p>It’s a good program for what it is, but the classes are very… not challenging.
I think in general sport administration is just not a very difficult curriculum, so this isn’t a knock on Miami, but the classes can be kind of a joke (depending on the teacher). The internship program is very good though, and that’s the most important factor in getting a job in sports anyway. So many events occur in South Florida, so there are TONS of internship and volunteer opportunities. Although there might be some better programs in other schools, I think for something like this, being in a big city with 4 major sports team, a NASCAR track, Super Bowls, etc, is much more important. No one in the real world cares about the classes you took, they care about the internships you’ve had. That’s what makes Miami’s a good program.
And it’s practical if you want to go into anything sport-related, if you don’t, then it’s not.</p>

<p>What I meant by it being practical, I might how easy it would be to get a job in the sports market…I honesty have no idea how the economy affected the admin sports jobs. </p>