Anyone with any information on the Geography program at Bama?

<p>Hi everyone,</p>

<p>I am a Virginia resident, rising junior, who is very interested in pursuing a career in urban planning. I am trying to start putting together a list of schools. There are very few schools in the country that offer this major as an undergraduate, so I am also going to be looking at some that have a degree in a related field, human geography, so that I could maybe major in that and then go onto get my master’s in planning (which I will do regardless of my UG major).</p>

<p>I have been doing some reading and found that Alabama has a major in Geography and also lets you have a concentration in urban and regional planning, so this could be a great option for me I think. Does anyone have any knowledge about the strength of this dept there?</p>

<p>I am going to need to be competitive for merit money/OOS scholarships in order to be able to attend if I were admitted, so things are kind of up in the air for now. I don’t have any test scores yet, but I do have a pretty good gpa (4.5) (APs and Honors) and class rank 6/350 and ECs from a very good public school here in Va. </p>

<p>I talked to a rep from Alabama last year at a college night and she was so nice and I really got excited talking to her about the school. :slight_smile: If you could shed any light on the particular major, I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks everyone and have a nice night!</p>

<p>*I am going to need to be competitive for merit money/OOS scholarships in order to be able to attend if I were admitted, so things are kind of up in the air for now. I don’t have any test scores yet, but I do have a pretty good gpa (4.5) (APs and Honors) and class rank 6/350 and ECs from a very good public school here in Va.
*</p>

<p>Have you taken the SAT or ACT yet?</p>

<p>Did you take the PSAT? </p>

<p>when will you be testing? Take both the ACT and SAT exams.</p>