Applying to Ivy Leagues major Maths as international student

Hi everyone,

I’m a high school sophomore and I go to a relatively small international school in eastern europe as a foreigner. We have a different system here and I’ll do IB Diploma next year.
Since I realized recently that I have about 2 years before college application, I started to think about the issue seriously.
I would like to major in maths at university and my dream would be unis like MIT, Cambridge and Stanford. However I know that these univeristies are extremely competitive and it’s very hard to get in. Still I aim for the best and want to give it a try.
I know a good IB score will be helpful and I am rather confident about this, but that might only be a part of the application. Apart from that I will need some extracurriculars, like community, leadership etc.
Our school is cool but it doesn’t have that many people. Every year only about 50 students graduate from the international program. So as you can imagine it is not competitive at all. Vasity sport teams and all kinds of clubs starting from freshman year are out of the question.
I think first some academic competitions will help. For example the AMCs. Also there is one obligatory part of the IB Diploma called CAS and is about community and service. So when I start IB I can do that.
I have read the Applying Sideways article and I do have passions to pursue. But of course you have to prove yourself in some activities. If given a chance I will be happy to busy myself with all the after school activities but maybe because I haven’t been in this country for a long time so I’m unable to find anything like clubs or volunteer communities outside school.
Can anyone give me any advice or suggestions? Thanks for reading and appreciate your help :blush:

1 Like

That is only be a part of the application.