Are my chances already ruined?

<p>Hey guys it's my first time posting on these forums and I've come here as I'm beginning to stress out as I feel that I've already ruined my chances at attending this school. I'm currently a freshman in high school and after adjusting to the new building and dealing with the work load, my grades have suffered in the process. I'm aware that it's sort of early to begin to worry but I've already received a few B's in my first semester. (B- in honors geo, B+ in World History East, B+ in advanced English) and as I'm approaching the midway point of my second semester, my grades haven't improved a significant amount. As an OOS student, do I still have a chance to attend the school if I improve my grades substantially?</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>Of course you still have a chance! Your GPA is an accumulation of 4 (well 3.5 when you apply to college) years. You will have to improve, as you said, substantially. Take as many advanced (AP, Honors, or College) classes as you can between now and senior year and if you do very well in them you will be alright. UW-Madison is difficult to get in, and its acceptance is very GPA-based, but they really like to see that upward swing in grades, which you have a perfect opportunity to show. Acceptance is also based on your SAT or ACT score, which is also very significant, strive for a 28-30. Keep working hard, and you’ll stand a good chance.</p>

<p>Yeah, you’re fine. I got a couple of C’s and I got in. UW’s hard to get into, but not THAT hard.</p>

<p>You guys have no idea how comforting that is to hear!
Thanks so much for the replies!</p>