Ask a Student

<p>Hey there Badgers</p>

<p>I've decided to start up this thread to help out prospective students who have some questions about what campus life is like. So if you have something you would like to ask post it here and I'll answer it best I can, or perhaps another student could chime in if I don't have specific knowledge on it. I'll get to your questions as quickly as possible.</p>

<p>Just a little background, I am a second semester freshman right now and I live in Sellery.</p>

<p>Hey Cryto, that’s a great idea. What do you think about posting a paragraph about your first year experience? Maybe a little bit about classes you enjoyed, particular events on campus you liked, dorm life… I’m not talking about a novel, but some highlights. I’m sure you are busy.</p>

<p>Love the idea, Cryto, but unless you preface every response with “This is solely based off of my personal experience,” you’re doing a huge disservice to the enormous variety of experiences students will have and the varying lenses through which they will look at the University and Madison.</p>

<p>There’s a reason why they hire 20+ unique perspectives for SOAR each year and why any student tour guide or New Student Leader goes through more than 80 hours of training leading up to their positions as representatives of the University.</p>

<p>Not saying you shouldn’t run this topic, but you’ve got to be careful with the inherent power you have as a self-appointed representative of the first-year experience at UW.</p>

<p>I think it is a terrific idea. There are little things about Madison that every prospective student wants to know. Hopefully as this thread progresses, more current students will join and give us their thoughts.</p>