Average GPA at TAMU for engineering ?

<p>I am an admitted student at Tamu for Mechanical engineering, and a national merit scholar. I was named mechanical engineering scholar, and one of the requirements for this is that I keep a 3.5 GPA. How attainable is this,and what is the average GPA for a mechanical engineer? What percentile is a 3.5?</p>

<p>I am also in the honors college. Do students often have a hard time maintaining the necessary GPA to stay in the honors program?</p>

<p>Jason, my son is in a similar situation (admitted to EE). I asked the same question on CC a few months ago and got the impression that the average is probably below a 3.0. However, to get into graduate schools one does need a 3.5. So, think of your scholarship as something A&M is willing to give you, as long as you appear to be Graduate School material.</p>

<p>Here is a link the grade reports and you can see the average for each college, and even by classification. What I can tell you is that it will be a challenge to maintain your 3.5, but it is very possible with excellent study skills and hard work. </p>

<p>[Registrar:</a> Report](<a href=“http://registrar.tamu.edu/FacultyStaff/Report/Default.aspx]Registrar:”>http://registrar.tamu.edu/FacultyStaff/Report/Default.aspx)</p>

<p>The cumulative GPR report will be of most interest to you since that is what is required to retain your scholarships. The mean GPA for the College of Engineering was a 2.982 for the Fall 2012 semester, with 11% of the students earning above a 3.5. This is comparable to the rest of the university. </p>

<p><a href=“http://avantgard**********%5B/url%5D”>http://avantgard**********</a>
Leading Your Way to College!</p>