Binghamton Pre-health

Hi im applying to binghamton watson school of engineering for comp sci.
Can I do pre-health in this school?
Or will i have to switch to harpur…
And how hard is it to get into watson?

To clarify, you want to major in comp sci and also pre-health?

@rebeccar no. pre-health is not a major. I’m majoring comp sci but also taking pre - health courses.

Yes, I’m aware of that, I meant do you want to major in comp sci and also complete a pre-health program. As you know, those are two incredibly different fields so you’re going to have a tough time doing it in 4 years. Most people take 4 years to complete a regular major, let alone adding on a pre-health curriculum that has zero overlap with it. My friend is doing this now (major in SOM but also doing pre-health) and it took her an extra 1.5 years to graduate. And that was with many summer and winter courses.

Take a look at the handbook and see how your comp sci requirements would fit in with the pre-health pathway: https://www.binghamton.edu/pre-health/curriculum/index.html

Comp sci requirements: http://www.binghamton.edu/cs/pdfs/2014_ug-sample-4yr-sched.pdf

As you can see, it’s not possible to do in 4 years - do you have a lot of AP credits that could fulfill the gen eds?

If your question is about logistics of declaring the major, here’s how it works: You have to major in the school you are in. So if you’re in Watson, you’d major in comp sci or engineering or something. You can take classes in Harpur, but you can’t major in it (like biology or chemistry) without either transferring to Harpur or doing a dual degree.