Brown University athletes suing Ivy League for not offering scholarships

Curious to hear thoughts on this. It earned a big eye roll in my house, particularly the “The suit argues Ivy League schools illegally conspired to limit financial aid” part. In my experience, several of the schools have some of the most generous financial aid policies out there. I also don’t buy the whole exploitation angle.

4 Likes

if athletes want athletic scholarships, then perhaps they shouldn’t be looking at the Ivy League? It’s a well-known policy. And these schools offer zero merit scholarships, so should athletes be favored over musicians, artists, promising STEM students, or others who also don’t get merit aid at Ivies? Moreover, I doubt that athletics generate significant income at Ivies (at least they surely didn’t at mine, which wasn’t strong in the usual big-time sports when I was a student there). Perhaps if there were athletic scholarships, the Ivies would be able to field stronger teams, but this is a decision the conference has made.

15 Likes

Many schools are upfront on scholarship policy. I would wonder why they chose to play there ? I’m not a lawyer but it seems a pointless lawsuit to me. They didn’t have to sign to play there. No one is entitled to a scholarship. They are ‘given’ at the discretion of the provider.

9 Likes