BU vs Emory as a Transfer

I’ve been admitted to both Emory and BU, and I’m having trouble choosing which to attend. Both will be roughly the same cost. BU has a Data Science minor that I’m interested in as well as an Accelerated master’s program, while Emory has a very interesting looking Public Policy major. Please help me decide.

1 Like

Based only on academics (since you haven’t discussed what non-academic preferences you may have), I’d choose Emory in this situation. (And I’m a BU grad fwiw) Emory’s Public Policy & Analysis major falls under the umbrella of its Quantitative Theory and Methods programs, along with the many tracks of the Quantitative Sciences major. These programs are extremely well-regarded and would more than cover the territory that adding a Data Science minor would at BU, but in a more integrated way, because the data science skill-set is applied throughout the major, by everyone in the major, not just those who choose to tack it on.

I would also think that Emory might be an easier adjustment socially, since it’s smaller and more self-contained… plus there’s the whole cohort from the Oxford campus that will be new to Atlanta, in addition to the 100+ external transfer students. BU does have a good-sized transfer cohort (700-ish/year?) but I don’t know how cohesive that group is since they’re spread across a big variety of upper-division programs - do they house incoming transfers together?

3 Likes

It’s Boston versus Atlanta since you do not seem to have a strong preference based on academics.

Fitting in should be easy at either school.

Would be helpful to know your current school & why you want to leave.

Also, would like to know more about BU’s accelerated masters degree program. Will it require an additional semester or two ? Masters degree in what subject area ?