Business major

I am an international student due to start my first year this fall at ASU. I applied as a biological sciences major but will be changing my major to business once I get there. However, I wanted to ask, is business a good major for my bachelors? As an international student, will there be job opportunities for me?
Secondly, I’ve read that companies need to sponsor a work visa for you to stay there after graduation. How to ensure that?
Also, I will be doing my masters as well, but to get into any good business school in the US you need to have at least 2 years work experience, right? So for that how do you ensure that you get a work visa of at least 2-3 years?
Please help me clear my doubts- I have practically no knowledge about all this stuff, and nobody in my family has ever done something like this. Please let me know.
Also, any helpful tips will always be appreciated!

“Good” is relative. It depends on your goals. You say you want to do a masters at a business school (MBA?). You don’t necessarily need an undergraduate business degree to do an MBA.

You can’t ensure that. You will need to be an outstanding candidate, better than other American candidates applying to the same jobs. Second, even if you find an employer who will sponsor you, you then need to enter into a visa lottery to actually get a work visa. Lastly, for permanent residency the employer will need to further sponsor you for a green card. Depending on your country of citizenship, this could take from a few years to over 13-14 years.

In short: it’s not an easy process and you should not rely on being able to work in the US (except for 1 year after graduation on something called “optional practical training”).

Work experience is recommended but not necessarily required.

2 Likes