Chance me for admission into UIUC CS [international student, 3.67 GPA, 1480 SAT]

Demographics : Asian with no hook

Intended Major (s) : Computer Science (but engineering)

ACT / SAT / SAT II : 1480 (680 RW 800 M) SAT II Math Level II 800 TOEFL 110

GPA and Rank : 9th grade (3.2, 3.675) 10th grade (3.463, 4) 11th grade (4.617, 4.4486) 12th grade(4.375, 4.338) my school doesn’t do rank / No ap courses in freshmen year.

Four year average: 3.67 UW / 3.99 W (10 ap courses taken)

Coursework : AP / IB / Dual Enrollment classes, AP / IB scores, etc

Honors / AP courses (including self-taught courses) : Honors Chemistry, AP Calculus BC (5), AP Calculus AB (subscore) (5), AP Statistics (5), AP Chemistry, AP Physics I / II (4) AP Biology (4) AP Computer Science Principles (4) AP Microeconomics (4), AP Human Geography (4), AP Environmental Science (4) AP World History (4), AP Languange and Composition (3)

Extracurriculars : Founder / President of a big data / coding club, won a semi-copyright and a top prize for suggesting a policy using a data visualization (being largely vague) Member of Academic Honor Societies (Math, Science, National), MUNS, Student Gov, bunch of volunteers etc, sports.

Awards : bunch of math awards (not saying the name of competition for privacy) at a less known but international level + CS award from a government, and school distinguished scholars

Essays / LORS / Other : Essays and LORS will be moderate, I think.

Do I even have a chance?

1 Like

you have a really good chance.

Why? Can you give me some reasons?

I thought I had little to no chance because the middle 50% GPA posted in their website is 3.76-4.0 on unweighted scale. Since I have 3.67 UW, at least 85% of students had higher GPA than me, and I am applying for CS.

1 Like

I don’t see your residency. Are you an Illinois resident ? Little chance. But hugely unlikely. Out of state no chance. Well there is always a chance.

Make sure you have targets and safeties.

1 Like