Chances for New Yorker?

<p>Hello,
I am a transfer student from a community college in new york. My GPA is about a 3.69 and i plan on taking my SAT again to improve my math score (500) but also improve my english (590). I will have 30 credits after the second semester ends. Also i have a incredible letter of recomendation from an alum. This school is incredibly prestigious and i curious if they will see my extreme effort and grade increases from high school. I was a michigan state acceptance and deferred for better opportunity. </p>

<p>Please respond with advice/opinion.</p>

<p>THank you!!!</p>

<p>I grew up in NYC, you went to CC for reason’s other then money (IMHO). If you had a 3.69 in Brooklyn or Queens college I would say that you have a shot, at a CC your odds are very low.</p>

<p>well i didnt go msu because at the time the market wasnt doing well and my fathers job is based solely on how the market does…you really think i have no chance even with high grades,improvement,and showing that ill take the SAT again and strong recs? :(</p>

<p>which CC do you attend. What classes have you taken that compose your GPA. I don’t know if they look at your HS record once your in college.</p>

<p>Your HS record may matter after only one semester’s worth of grades- those are good, btw. Direct any questions about retaking the SAT to admissions to see if would matter- an email should work. Students apply from Wisconsin technical colleges, yours could be on par with those. Sounds worth your while to apply- and keep Michigan State as your back up.</p>

<p>i went to suffolk county community college. Yeah i might keep michigan state as my backup but since i dedicated this year id rather go to a more prestigious school. Will wisconsin email me back quickly ? i called today and was kept on hold for a while then gave up…i will most likely email them. Has any one here had success as a transfer after only one year?</p>

<p>the classes i took were