Transfering to UW-Madison

<p>Hey everybody, I've been looking around here for a while but this is my first time posting. Long story short, my HS GPA is pretty bad (2.4), and while I was accepted to a few state schools (Southern Illinois and Western Illinois) I really feel I can do better. So I'm deciding to do 2 years at CC. Freshman and Sophmore year were really bad academic wise, I was diagnosed with a minor learning disability, but junior year I improved and got a 2.8, and am now getting a 3.5. So my main question is, how hard is it to transfer to UW-M? If I kept a 3.5 at CC, would I have a solid chance of getting in?</p>

<p>Roco,
I am in a similar position as you. I am from Minnesota and did not do so hot in high school. I got a 3.4 GPA, which at my high school was good because it is competitive and is one of the best high schools in the state. From there, I went to a community college and got my AA degree, with an overall GPA of 3.4. I then spent fall semester at the University of Wisconsin, River Falls, earning a 3.4 GPA there, as well. Seems to be a recurring theme, huh? After fall semester, I applied to UW-Madison, hoping to get in as a transfer student. My application is complete as of January 13th and is currently "being reviewed by an admissions counselor." I will let you know if I get admitted or not. I am anxiously awaiting...A couple of things worth noting:
*First generation college student.
*A couple of extracurricular activitiesin high school and college.
*Part time job since 11th grade.
*Have volunteered a few times in the last few years.</p>

<p>Word, hope all goes well for you.</p>

<p>Any other input?</p>

<p>Get above a 3.5 at a community college and you have a good chance at transferring to a good school, but when you're transferring you need to apply to more than just UW-Madison - nothing's a guarantee, so apply as a transfer to a few safety schools as well.