Chances of a Comp Sci Transfer

<p>Looking to transfer to Virginia Tech from NVCC. About to start my last Semester of Sophomore year, but I will have to take one class over summer to graduate on time (switched majors midway through 1st Semester)</p>

<p>Cum GPA: 3.14</p>

<p>Pros:
- I am a Volunteer Firefighter/EMT at a local department (Started January 2012)
- I had an unpaid internship at a Cybersecurity Government Contractor
- I am a founding member of a Debate and Forensics club at one of the smaller NVCC Campuses
- I am a founding member of a Computer Science Interest Group (nothing big here, just a small pre-club group)
- I live in Virginia
- My GPA has been increasing every semester and I have a B in both Calc Classes and an A in my most recent Advanced Computer Science class
- My brother graduated Tech in 2007</p>

<p>Cons:
- 3.1 GPA
- I am unable to get the Guaranteed Admissions agreement due to two C's, one in my first Comp Sci class I ever took, and one in a Biology class freshman year as I pulled myself together
- I'm sure from what I HAVEN'T listed you can think of a few more cons</p>

<p>I know I may be a reach for VT but I am really, really, hoping I get in as it is a dream of mine. I found Computer Science to be very tough though (I'm a Liberal Arts type of guy) but I have persevered through and I am hoping to show this on my personal statement. I'm a strong writer.</p>

<p>So with my volunteer experience and some of my EC's do you think I will be admitted to tech? Even if it's simply general acceptance to the school and not the Engineering program i'll take that too.</p>

<p>I have no idea. As you know you are not eligible for guaranteed admission. But, if you received a C in one CS class and found the next class to be very tough why do you want to major in CS? You mentioned that you are a liberal arts kind of guy. If so, is a math-intensive major in the engineering school really for you?</p>