Chances of getting in? (older than your avg. student)

<p>I'm trying to find out what my chances of getting in are. I'm 34, never taken the SATs, a USAF veteran, and I went to the art institute of dallas. I'm trying to get into the Visualization major. Since I went to the AiD (I strongly urge everyone to ignore that the art institutes even exist - trust me), I never took my SATs. I haven't taken an actual Math course since 1994 or so. I'm trying to brush up on my math skills with several books before I take my SATs in Dec. After doing the online practice SAT, I scored a 470 in Math, 690 in CR and 630 in writing. I can easily boost my reading and writing scores. I skipped at least half of the practice math section because when I was in school, we were only required to take 2 courses (Algebra and Geometry). In high school, my GPA was 4.02, although I graduated low in class rank (lower half). How much will that affect me in getting in?</p>

<p>I have an appointment for the local prospective student center in 2 weeks as well as a visit to the campus that same week. I'm sure I can do extremely well on my essays based on my life experiences, but I'm more worried about my grades in the past.</p>

<p>Will I possibly have a chance of actually getting in if I can boost my math scores up? Any help or insight will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!</p>

<p>Visualization is a tough major to get accepted to. Honestly, maybe the most selective at A&M.</p>

<p>I’m not worried about getting into the curriculum I choose. ;)</p>

<p>I have a strong portfolio and I can/will be putting more into it. I’m worried about getting accepted in TAMU more than anything else. Once I get my foot in the door, I have no issues.</p>

<p>I should also note that my father is a TAMU legacy as well.</p>