College Essays

<p>I am an out of state student with a 1420/1600 on the SAT and 3.6 gpa. Almost top 10% of my high school. I want to become a petroleum engineering. On the application, is there an option to choose your major? I didn't see one on the preview application. Also, I have only spent about 2 hours on my essays. I'm planning on working on them a lot more the next few days. If I want to get into petroleum engineering should I finish them and apply on August 1 or wait and work on them more?</p>

<p>Engineering has changed so that while you may indicate a preference for “mechanical” or “petro,” all incoming engineering freshman are “general engineering” until after the 1st semester or 1st year when you are able to basically apply to the particular discipline of choice. For more detail, go on-line to the engineering dept’s websites. If memory serves me, when you apply using the Apply Texas site, once you submit your application (and that includes the essays), it’s a done deal. You are not able to go in and add to the application. But, please look over the Apply Texas website to confirm that! That’s just the way we understood it. Our son had his essays done prior to Aug. 1st so that when he completed the Apply Texas application the morning of Aug. 1, he was able to complete the entire application and submit everything all at once. Wish you the best!</p>

<p>Thank! And just a follow-up question. Does it look bad if I don’t do the optional essay?</p>

<p>Sorry if this is a stupid question but where can I preview the application?</p>

<p>applytexas.org and it should say in about the middle of the page 2014-2015 preview application</p>

<p>Thanks a lot for the help, I would have been late on the application lol. I’m also planning to apply for engineering.</p>