College List Advice - Math and Music Conundrum [MN resident, 4.0, 1550, likely NMSF, finished calculus 3 in 11th grade]

Hello!

I am a rising senior currently trying to come up with a college list.

I have a 1550 SAT, with 800 on the math section and 750 on Reading and Writing. With my PSAT score, I expect to be a national merit semi-finalist. My GPA is a 4.6 weighted, 4.0 unweighted. I have taken many AP and college-level math courses. I just recently finished Calc 3 at the University of Minnesota.

I am also an accomplished musician at the state level. I have won awards through Solo and Ensemble for viola performance.

I want to be able to play in a decent orchestra where I don’t necessarily have to be a major in college.

My college wants are as follows:

1. Good orchestra
  2. Applied Mathematics, Computer Science or Financial Math (in that order)
  3. Greater than 3500 kids
  4. Has to be close to a city with population 80K (urban/suburban area)
  5. Prefer Midwest, East coast or West Coast
  6. Diversity
  7. Friendly-ish atmosphere, not serve your self (so I may be leaning more private college)

I am struggling with my list a lot, I appreciate any suggestions or help!

1 Like

Look at Harvey Mudd and/or Pomona - smaller schools, but the consortium is almost 7000 kids - great music for non-majors, in LA county.
Northwestern is another option, close to Chicago, lots of music for non-majors.

I am sure that you will get many great suggestions, but I will suggest checking out Case Western. It has a lot of the characteristics that you mentioned and its partnership with Cleveland Institute of Music offers a lot of opportunities for non-majors. Also offers merit and music scholarships (for non-majors).

6 Likes

Have you talked to your parents about cost constraints?