College Major Help

Hello, I am a high school student, about to be a senior, and am currently starting on college applications. I just had a quick question that I hope to gain insight regarding college majors. I am hoping to go for a career as a registered nurse, but I was wondering if I could become a nurse if I major in cognitive science with an emphasis on neuroscience? Or should I just stick with biology or some sort of science major? (the college I hope to go to doesn’t have a nursing major, but I believe they have a program for students who already have a bachelor’s degree)

The thing is, cognitive science seems interesting to me, and I would like to choose this as my major, but it isn’t exactly related to the career I am going for… Sorry for such a long post!

No, you can’t become a nurse if your major is cognitive science. You need to get your bachelors of science in nursing (a BSN).

You can get an associates degree IN nursing if you want to be a nurse as well.

Or you can get your bachelors in neuroscience, then go back to school for either an associates, BSN, or a generalist RN masters program. But that would be a much more expensive options having to get 2 degrees.

To be a nurse, you have to complete a nursing program and graduate. You then are given permission to take the NCLEX exam which licenses you as a Registered nurse.

1 Like

Above post is accurate. To become a nurse, you MUST get a degree in nursing. Sure, you can do an undergrad in something else…but why would you do that if you want to be a nurse?

You are about to be a high school senior. I think you need to look at your list of colleges to apply to a little better. If you only apply to places that do not have nursing as degree, you won’t be a nurse when you finish undergrad.

How to become a Nurse:

There are several ways to become a registered nurse with a BSN these days.