Coop Information

I am currently a student at UA. I am going through my first coop process this semester and it has been stressful. I have learned some things, and I also have alot of questions.

1)The application is due after the orientations sessions are given. You must attend one orientation session to be able to go through everything.
2)The day the applications are due, you get an email telling you what your interview signup day is. There are 4 days, each between 7 and 10 am. You get your interview sign up day based upon a point system. The higher your points, the best day you get. The most points are given out for high GPA and sophomore status. The closer you are to a sophomore status, the more points you get, so juniors and seniors are screwed, and some don’t even get to sign up for interviews.
3)Interview day is allllll day Oct 12 2016 for the Fall 2016 semester. Online, it says two things: Interview day is held at Bryant Denny and that Interviews are given in the Ferguson Ballroom. Does anyone know which is correct? I’m hoping it’s the ferguson center because I still have class that day.
4) I have been told you should be able to sign up for 5 interviews, however, I did the math, and if each company only does one interview at a time (like bring one interviewer instead of two) then only 285 students will get interviews. If they each bring two interviewers, 570 students will get interviews.

5) From my understanding, if you are a chemical engineer, you will pretty much only be able to interview with paper companies.
6)You have to sign up for a class (register) that is 12 cred hours and will show up on your transcript as a coop and it lets you stay enrolled in the university. No tuition is required for this class, but there is a small fee of about $260.