Course Selections?

I am a sophomore in an IB school, and in school we’re starting to discuss about selecting courses for IB DP next year. My temporary choices for now are:

English L&L SL
Global Politics HL
Math HL
Physics HL
Chemistry SL
(foreign language class) SL

I’m certain about taking math and physics as HL, since I’m planning to pursue a major in the area in the future. I’m uncertain about my 3rd HL class choice (Global Politics, for now).

I’m pretty new to IB, so I have a few questions:

• Does taking 4 HL classes in the beginning and dropping one (to SL) early in the junior year a common thing? (I'm considering this route since I'm uncertain about my third option, but some of my classmates are skeptical of it.)
  • Is Chemistry HL a rigorous course? Will Physics and Chemistry HL be too much of a burden?
  • If anybody has taken the pilot class for Global Politics HL, could you please give me an overview of what the course is going to be like?
  • It isn't that common honestly. The people in my school who took 4 HL classes stuck with it because dropping the class and "downgrading" shows up on your transcript. We were told that the first thing colleges might ask is "why did you drop the class?" Technically, moving from HL to SL does count as a class drop (transcript-wise)
  • Yes, Chemistry HL is a rigorous course. All HL classes are. We don't have Physics HL in my school, but I've been double sciencing in IB Bio HL and IB Chem HL. It's do-able. Actually, taking both classes seems to be helping me in both classes because what you learn in one class is pretty applicable to the other class.
  • N/A