Course Selection Help

I’m a sophomore in the IB middle years program thinking about my courses for next year’s switch to the diploma program. I’m already certain of an HLs I want to take but I need help discerning which are actually legitimately challenging and reputable courses vs a few of the less rigorous IB courses(I’m looking at you Methods). Okay, so here’s what I’ve compiled so far:

Certain:
Math HL

Probable:
Physics HL (Supposedly really difficult but taught by a Harvard double major at my local high school)

Uncertain:
Theatre HL (Not sure if it would show colleges lack of rigor or immense commitment to theatre(which I have))
Chemistry HL
Latin HL(I love me some Latin)
Film HL

On the fence:
English HL

And I’m not a history guy so HL humanities wouldn’t be my thing. Any suggestions?

what is your major?

I intend to pursue nuclear energy or physics for bachelor’s and then either get a doctorate in physics or go to med school and help with nuclear medicine.

HL Math, HL Physics (but this combo is known to be lethal- our Salutatorian failed his diploma doing this), and NOT HL CHEM. Do NOT take this heavy course load, you WILL regret it. And if you’re only concerned about what college’s will think, that’s an extremely bad sign. However, I’m sure they’d appreciate a more well rounded student vs. someone who put all their eggs in one STEM basket. So I would recommend HL English. SL English is a literal joke, and most student in the US take HL.

I’m not trying to do this for the purpose of impressing colleges, I just wanted to know if theatre hl or Latin hl are really just joke classes on par with methods or sl English

How many HL classes in total do you plan to take?

I highly recommend what my D did which is getting two SL classes done your first year. Leaving only 4 classes for last year.