Current TAMU Engineering Senior, feel free to ask me any questions!

Howdy, I’m currently a senior in civil engineering at A&M taking a 5th year. I graduated HS in 2012 and transferred in during 2014.

Feel free to ask me any questions yall may have. I know finding info online can be difficult so I may be able to help answer questions about anything you may be wondering.

Hope this helps, thanks!

MODERATOR’S NOTE: Anyone is free to ask or answer questions in this thread.

What can I expect as an upcoming engineering freshmen during the first couple of weeks of class? Do they start off fast paced and difficult or do they settle you in at first and then start to increase the difficulty? Will there be a lot of assignments at first? And would you recommend making friends in class to form study groups(I work better with study groups)?

Things will start off fast. Even on the 1st day of class most professors will start on the material so be prepared to start taking notes. Most students dont buy the books until after the 1st day so typically no homework will be due for a week to 2 weeks. But if there is they usually post what you need online on ecampus. Be prepared to start off fast, the 1st exam is typically about a month after school starts. The first 3 weeks are somewhat easier but then from late September till mid November it gets pretty hectic. I almost always bomb the 1st exam which really hurts my chances at an A so my best advice is try your best to over study for the 1st exam in each class. The bad part it usually the exams for each class all fall within the same week so its just difficult to prioritize.

Definitely nake friends and form study groups. Typically I end up friends with the people I sit by and we group message a lot to work through homework and study for exams.

Hope this helps.

How difficult was it getting a continuing student scholarship?
Do you advise engineering honors?
Do you recommend studying abroad over summer with a professor?