Currently studying chemistry, but looking at Nursing

<p>I'm currently a sophomore at Hampshire College, but I'm not really feeling all that interested in what I'm doing here. I'm trying to figure out the most practical path to becoming a nurse. Out of these, which is best?</p>

<p>Transfer to a nursing program now? (Regis College)
Do a post-bac BSN?
Drop and get ASN, then do RN-BSN?</p>

<p>What are my chances?
Of the prerequisites, I've only done:
Intro to Psych
Stats (Statistics for Behavior Science)
Pharmacology (Psychopharmacology)
Chem I and II + Lab
Orgo I + Lab
Biochem (no lab)</p>

<p>I have no prior nursing experience, but I will be volunteering at a hospital this summer.</p>

<p>My GPA is technically 0.0, but it would be high if I received grades
(I get narrative evaluations @ Hampshire AND I got narrative evals in high school too)
Critical Reading: 670
Math: 690
Writing: 640</p>

<p>I'm just very confused in general about what I am doing with my life. I'm debating between microbiology, chemistry and medicine/nursing. I feel like I could get an advanced degree if I really wanted to.</p>

<p>What are my possible pathways into nursing? What is up with all the concerns with recent grads not being able to find nursing jobs?</p>

<p>I think you need to do a bit more career exploration to determine if nursing is your path or another science. The decision to go the ADN to BSN route is more about money since you can work sooner to pay for more education. I do recommend any nurse get a BSN because you cannot advance beyond the bedside without one. </p>

<p>Nursing requires classes in anatomy and physiology which is what drew me to nursing so you would not be able to take those classes unless you were at Regis assuming you can take them without being in the nursing program. So, you may need to transfer regardless to test those waters. I assume you could do the other majors there at Regis as well to not lose time. </p>