Do nurse programs start junior year of undergraduate school?

<p>I am currently a first-year student and it suddenly hit me that a nurse practitioner is what I want to do. However I'm very lost in the whole process.. I realized I need a BNS in order to get a MSN. </p>

<p>I'm confused whether I need to transfer immediately because my school doesn't offer a major in nursing or do I transfer to another school junior year?</p>

<p>If someone can clarify, I'd appreciate it very much!</p>

<p>The sooner you transfer, the easier it will be. Meanwhile, take as many courses that fit into a nursiing curriculum as possible at your current college (such as chemistry, biology, anatomy, psychology and maybe stats and social issues).</p>

<p>Many colleges don’t start nursing courses until junior year. Many colleges don’t let students declare a nursing major until junior year.</p>

<p>Other colleges start 2nd semester of sophomore year - those are mainly colleges that stress “direct entry” programs from high school. Even in those direct entry colleges, they don’t get into the meat and potatoes of nursing until junior year.</p>

<p>Generally, colleges in the northeast US are more likely to offer direct entry, while colleges south of the mason-dixon line often are not direct entry.</p>