E-learning?

<p>Hi there! I saw a couple references to e-learning on another thread and thought it would be worth a new thread to ask about it, rather than high jacking the CBHP thread. </p>

<p>Can you describe more about what you mean by “e-learning?” Are lectures recorded and watched on video, are textbooks digital, are test or quizzes on computers, homework turned in electronically? Just wondering how they’re using technology in e-learning.</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>Different classes you have will have their own e-learning tabs. It should be in the bottom right corner of your mybama page.</p>

<p>Thanks KP, but I’m not a student. I’m a parent of a student who has applied for fall 2012. I’m wondering more about how different courses and professors incorporate e-learning into the classroom experience. </p>

<p>Can you tell me what your courses are that use e learning and what it looks like?</p>

<p>I have American Studies 150, Intro Telecommunication (TCF 100) and Motion Picture History/Criticism (TCF 112) on e-learning.</p>

<p>All of them have the syllabus and basic info on there. AMS links to Tegrity, which I think is a recorded lecture thing… but attendance counts, so you can’t skip and watch later. I’ve heard in some classes on some days they don’t go to class and just watch lectures on e-learning. I think that was a friend’s chem section.</p>

<p>TCF 100 puts some stuff like surveys and instructions for extra credit… TCF 112 puts all the outside readings on there.</p>

<p>I’m not sure of the difference between elearning or Blackboard. </p>

<p>I know that my kids turned in homework electronically for" many classes…which is a good thing because then no problems with “oops, I forgot to bring my homework.”</p>

<p>And, since most essays now use Turnitin.com to check for cheating, those are also turned in online. </p>

<p>The only class my kids had online was a technical drawing class.</p>