Full Ride as NMF?

<p>Is it possible to get a full ride at TAMU if you are a national merit finalist? I know that they give the equivalent of full tuition, but I was wondering if other scholarships are easily obtained by NMFs. Also, I have a 36 ACT and a 2330 SAT, so would that help?</p>

<p>Yes, indeed. Some NMF’s get a free ride and then some. And yes, your test scores should help. Of course, many things are taken into consideration, not just test scores. But yes, it’s definitely possible. Best of luck to you! :)</p>

<p>I did get some need-based money, but I am an OOS student at A&M with a full ride. Keeping it is the tough part - the require you to keep a 3.5 GPA, and at least for me, that’s been very stressful.</p>

<p>@indianboy2400. I would not expect a full ride. Your stats are comparable with my son’s, who was also a NMF and passed 15 AP exams with mostly fives. I also have corresponded with several other NMF parents. The bottom line is that you will likely still pay room and board, around $10,000 a year, plus your books and other essentials.</p>

<p>^ True that. It is not something to expect, indianboy2400. But it is possible. It does happen for some. It will depend on a lot more than test scores. I personally know more than a handful of free-ride NMF’s. But I know many, many more who don’t have a free-ride. Still, whether you get a free ride or not, TAMU’s scholarship package for NMF’s is nothing to sneeze at!</p>

<p>You do have excellent extracurriculars. (I checked you out on another thread.) Also, there are additional merit scholarships you will be able to apply for after your first semester. What do you intend to study? My son is in Engineering and loves it. For reference, he was also accepted to Michigan, Purdue, Georgia Tech, and Rose-Hullman. A&M is an outstanding engineering school and getting better every year.</p>

<p>Georgia Tech and Purdue do have some full rides available.</p>