Geology at University of Alabama

<p>Hey! So I’m a current freshman at a combination LAC/REU, which offers challenging academics, but a poor geology program. If I do decide to major in the subject (only discovered my interest in it over the summer), I’d have to transfer. While I love LACs, as a transfer it makes more sense to go to a larger research university which can offer more regularly scheduled classes, hence why I’m looking at University of Alabama. Based on Mom2CollegeKids postings, I’ve read UA has recently poured money into its engineering facilities, but I was wondering if they’ve done the same with their earth science department. </p>

<p>Does anyone have any familiarity with geology at UA? Do any current posters know what the departmental strengths are (ex: petrology, structural geology, hydrogeology, etc)? How strong is the program?</p>

<p>Other schools I’m considering (if I do decide to major in the subject) are UC Santa Cruz, Colorado School of Mines (top choice), UMissouri S&T, CU-Boulder, and Montana State University (safety).</p>

<p>Hi, I don’t know much about the geo program, but I think someone who posts here might.</p>

<p>Have you looked at the website?
[Geological</a> Sciences](<a href=“http://geo.ua.edu/]Geological”>http://geo.ua.edu/)</p>

<p>[Facilities</a> Geological Sciences](<a href=“http://geo.ua.edu/facilities/]Facilities”>Facilities & Technology – Geological Sciences)</p>

<p>The geology program at the University of Alabama was established in 1847, and the Department has historically provided a focus for the mapping and development of the geological and hydrological resources of the State of Alabama.</p>