Grades and sorority bids

<p>So, next fall I will be attending The University of Alabama and plan to rush! I have a presidential scholarship to the Honors College, 34 on my ACT, and a 3.7 GPA at one of the top 50 private schools in the nation. I have at least 2 recs per house (at most 6) and plan to visit with my boyfriend’s sister who is a senior at a popular “Old Row” sorority.
Even with all this, I am scared that I will not receive a bid because I am an OOS student (from Missouri). Do my grades and scholarship help my chances any or are they somewhat irrelevant? If anyone has some advice on how to maximize my chances, that’d be awesome (I’m looking at you Aphimommy :))</p>

<p>i think being OOS is not as much of a detriment as it may have been in the past. it may still be a fairly big deal with some groups, but not the system as a whole.</p>

<p>go through recruitment with an open mind and you will do fine.</p>

<p>Sorry for the delay…2 weddings and a very busy
full time job have this “mommy” a little harried and hectic!!! I sent you a pm…</p>

<p>Thank you!!</p>

<p>Double check your social media and maximize your options!</p>

<p>Being from OOS is no big deal. EVERY sorority has lots.
Go for it!</p>

<p>What do you mean by “double check your social media”? Will the different sororities look very closely at all of my pictures? If I’m on a pretty private setting on Facebook & all they can see are my cover photos & one profile picture, will that affect my chances of getting a bid? What are sororities specifically looking for on social media?</p>

<p>Just make sure there is nothing inappropriate or not-flattering on your facebook that can be found. Also, don’t forget about instagram or twitter!</p>

<p>Yes indeed, they WILL look at your pix, including the alumna you ask to write your recommendation. You don’t want pictures of you making rude gestures, PDA (to use an old-fashioned term), or showing way too much skin in a lascivious fashion.