High school Sophomore in VA looking for Engineering school recommendations

Demographics

• US Domestic
  • VA
  • Public School

Intended Major(s) Engineering undecided, leaning towards Computer, ECE or Mechanical

Unweighted GPA - 3.8
Weighted HS GPA (incl. weighting system): 4.3 (Two AP classes +1 and rest all honor classes +.5 points)

• College GPA (for transfers):
  • Class Rank: top 25%
  • ACT/SAT Scores: Not taken yet

Coursework
Taking AP Calc BC, AP Physics I, AP Chemistry, AP Computer Science I and II, AP psychology and Literature

TSA (Technology Student Association) competetions State, Regional level award winner/competitor in various categories

Robotics, Model UN, Cyber Patriot, District Chorus

Preferably colleges in NorthEast closer to VA

Looking into:

VTECH and UVA In state
Penn State, NC State
U of Delaware, U of Pittsburg
UT Dallas,
Michigan State, RIT

I’m a high school sophomore and looking to get good school recommendations for Engineering and Computer Science.

Cost constraints? I.e. have you talked to your parents how much they will contribute to your college costs?

In-state, GMU, ODU, and VCU also have both ME and CS.

VT, PSU, NCSU all admit to a first year engineering program, from which students must then pass a secondary admission process based on college courses and grades to enter a major. Check on how difficult the process is for each school. UVA and Pittsburgh have a similar process, but declaring a major does not require anything more than a 2.0 GPA.

2 Likes

Based on the schools you mentioned, UMD, Purdue, and RPI may be of interest.

4 Likes

Thank you! Fee wise, preferably In-state…Budget is upto $50K per year.

Where can I find more info about the secondary admission process?

VT: Change of Major/Minor | Engineering | Virginia Tech
PSU: Undergraduate Advising | ETM - New and Re-enrolling Students - Summer 2020 or Later | Penn State Engineering