Honors Classes

I signed up for my first semester classes. I have 17 hours (plus 1 for an honors action program). Also, I signed up for the honors version of a class whenever I could. I have 3 departmental honors classes (MATH 145, SP 201, EN 103) and 1 honors foundation class (UH 210) which add up to 13 honors hours (plus 1) in one semester. Is this too much? Are the honors version of classes really that much harder than the regular versions?

IMO, this is not too much, on paper. The fact that you’re questioning it means that you will take it seriously and probably do well. 16 credit hours in 1 semester is about average for you to graduate on time. The Honors sections for 145 and 103 are (usually) not more difficult, but will be more in-depth, given smaller classes. If you have had honors or AP classes in high school, you will be fine. I question the Honors section of SP201, tho. You might find that extra challenging, but I have no direct experience with honors FL classes, that’s just my gut feel. If you’re a native speaker, or are really good at Spanish, then go for it. But first, contact the professor and the aide directly and ask what, in their opinion, is the difference between honors and regular section, and then go from there. Good luck!