Honors College at Loyola University Chicago

I was wondering if anyone has been through the honors program at LUC, I’ve been accepted but don’t really know what to expect. Does it make it more difficult to manage standard classes, how much extra work is it, what benefits do you get out of it?

I’m in my second semester of honors. I’ll just list some pros and cons.

Pros: You actually learn a lot in the courses and the papers force you to critically analyze the books you read. No essays are easy. The tests are pretty difficult and there’s a lot of studying. I’m taking this as a pro though because you turn into a better student.

Cons: Lots of reading, but you get to manage your time. Tests allow you to skip books though if you dare. The honors dorm is pretty bad though and the people are very loud, obnoxious or introverted. If you want to have any fun that involves not staying in the dorms and playing board games or video games, I suggest not doing the honors program. That’s up to you though. The class overall is an easy B, hardly anybody gets C’s, but an A is VERY difficult. Contrary to what the grading scale says, it’s not very lenient. You need to put some work in. Your paper grades do depend on your professor though, some are more difficult than others. To give you a good scale of difficulty, on our first semester midterm only about ten percent received A’s, and only a handful got straight A’s out of 300 students.

I’m taking 17 credits now and it’s not overwhelming, but that’s because I have good work ethic and nobody goes out on the weekend. It’s up to you. If you have more questions ask away.