Horrible experience with UW - Madison!!

<p>I am an international student who applied to the University of Wisconsin - Madison for fall 2006. I was accepted, and I sent in my housing deposit to the university. Around mid April, I made the decision that I would not be pursuing my undergraduates at the UW - Madison. I acted promptly and sent in my withdrawal letter to the admissions office. Furthermore, I called the admissions office a week later to make sure that they had received the withdrawal letter and I was going to receive my deposit. The representative tried to connect me to housing, but it was busy. She assured me that as I had sent it my rejection letter I would be receiving my deposit. </p>

<p>After a couple of weeks, I called the university again to check what was going on with my refund. The admissions office said that I had to talk to housing about the issue. Housing's response was that I had to send in a separate form stating that I was not going to attend UW - Madison. They understood that admissions made a mistake and gave me the contact info for the supervisor of the admissions. I just got an email from the supervisor that nothing could be done and that I should contact housing. I am just fed up of calling and emailing people for 50 bucks.</p>

<p>I just feel cheated, and I want to let prospective students to be careful of the housing deposit. I have to say I was really disgusted by the contact with the UW - Madison staff. </p>

<p>Good luck to all of you who are going there.</p>