Housing Help! Sellery/Witte or Chadbourne!

I’m an incoming freshman this fall and I have to fill out my housing application quickly before May 7th! I for sure want to live in the SE dorms but I’m absolutely torn between Sellery/Witte and Chadbourne. I keep getting mixed reviews about both of them. I like to party and go out but I definitely want to study hard, I plan on doing something in engineering. Comment right away for suggestions or feel free to read my super long reasoning between the two.

I’ve heard Sellery/Witte are the party dorms and are really loud. However I’ve done my research and know that that isn’t really and issue. People are still considerate about being quiet Sundays-Wednesday’s and have a huge party atmosphere Thursdays and the weekend. I like these 2 dorms because i feel like it captures the freshmen experience at Madison. Everyone who lives in these dorms seem to have a lot of pride in it and have enjoyed it. My only concern is that I haven’t been the best student academically and I’m afraid that living in these 2 dorms will not help academically and be distracting. Also there are a lot of Greeks that live in these 2 dorms and I’m not very fond of the greek system, although I won’t object to being friends with people in srats/frats.

I like Chadbourne because it seems like it’s the middle ground. It’s in SE but it’s more quiet and better academically also because it’s a learning community. The floors seem to be a lot closer because of all the activities they have going on. Also the whole being in the center of the campus is a plus and having a dining hall connected. My main concern with Chad is that I heard it’s known to have weird people in it. It seems like the “Lakeshore” dorm in SE. Do people in Chad still enjoy partying every weekend? A lot of people who choose Chad in the freshmen FB group seem a little strange too…(sorry for being judgmental)