Housing help!!

<p>I am transferring to UM. I'm not sure what building I should pick for my dorm room. I am a Computer Engineer major. I'm into computers, working out in the fitness center, and I want to meet alot of people. </p>

<p>I have alot of "toys" that I am going to bring that I would like to share with my roomate and others. Such as a projector and surround sound. So I don't want to live in a single because it doesn't seem as much fun.</p>

<p>I don't like the idea of the hallway bathrooms, but I could live with it if it has its advantages. I'm trying to get the biggest dorm room I can get also, so I have some room for my computers and toys and such.</p>

<p>Can you guys help me and make suggestions on what housing I should try and get? Thanks alot.</p>

<p>Oh, and I like the fact that pearson and mahoney seem to have a parking garage for the residents. I will be bringing a vehicle and would be pleased to know it is under roof, protected.</p>

<p>Well......Standford/Hecht towers are closest to the Wellness Center. Shared hall baths though. Smallest rooms.</p>

<p>Eaton supposedly has the biggest rooms, although son tells me he sees no difference in Eaton and Mahoney/Pierson. He's lived in Eaton and Mahoney. All of these are suites (2 per room/ 2 rooms sharing a bath).</p>

<p>Honestly, your going to want to "talk" to your roommate prior to bringing a lot of stuff. Neither the towers or the suites have much storage or floor space. Lofting beds helps, but not enough to brings "tons" of stuff.</p>

<p>Also, be aware, that depending on circumstances this year, (this has happened the last 2 years)....some transfer students have gotten housed at the Holiday Inn accross the street on Hwy1 and at the Mariott Dadeland until available on-campus housing became available. And while that means maid-service and a private bath, it also means you could be sharing a very small "room" for a while.... Best of luck!</p>