Housing: Lakeshore or Southeast

What’s the main difference between atmosphere?
Is Lakeshore as “boring” and “dull” as everyone says it is and is Southeast really all parties? Don’t get me wrong, parties are great but they can get rather redundant too…

Based off the housing site so far I’m leaning toward Leopold the most and was wondering what the main atmosphere surrounded it? Are the housing tours worth it btw? I’m a MN resident so it’s not too far but driving so far for a day is still a pain

Do not think about “boring/partying” when choosing which part of campus to live in. You can find out a lot about the different dorms on the UW Res Halls website. Look at lofting guides for more room pictures. Also look at Google Earth to see the buildings in the campus setting, although hills won’t be as obvious.

It is logical to sort out dorms in either Lakeshore or Southeast first then look at various buildings in your favored area. The major consideration may be if you want a low rise (4 story) or high rise (10)- able to easily use the stairs or need to wait for the elevator. Or it could be wanting trees and grass (plus lake) for your campus home- the place you can de-stress in. Or wanting to be “close to the action” of State St et al (you can walk from the lakeshore dorms to State St in all weather). You may like/dislike certain types of architecture. Your budget may mean you do not go for the more expensive dorms. Count on having one roommate- singles are generally taken by returning students. There are libraries all over campus- no need to go to the one matching your intended major. Food service all over and you can eat anywhere. All have been maintained and have amenities as listed by Res Halls.

I doubt you can enter most dorms as they are being lived in now and kept locked. A virtual tour as above is the way to research.