Housing

I am an international student from India. As the decision period is about to end, I am seriously considering UW madison as my future school.
I looked at the housing , and asked around a bit, and really liked elizabeth waters ! what are the other dorms available which are like LIZ? or any other dorms which have a good scenic view, Silence and occasional parties?

Look at the Res Halls site- Liz is officially Elizabeth waters Hall so you need to look at “Waters”- hard for anyone who ever went there to remember. Liz is part of the Lakeshore (vs Southeast) dorms area. The other dorms there will be along the lakeshore. You should rank Liz first knowing you may not get it. Then look at the locations, architecture and other factors for the other dorms and rank them. All dorms will have the same good maintenance, some have extra charges amenities listed. All dorms open to freshmen will have at least 50% freshmen. Look at floorplans et al to see which appeal to you most. None of us can tell you what you like. Every dorm has its own “flavor” while the basics are all there. Pros and cons to each.

Remember that you needed to sign your Res Halls contract by its deadline. If you choose another school you will get your deposit back if you request it along with sending UW notice you do not want your place by any deadlines for getting deposits back- Res Halls requests must be made in addition to any UW requests- doing one does not automatically do the other. Res Halls may be the public dorms but they are run independently of the school, ie what UW the school knows is not what Res Halls knows.

Short answer- go with Lakeshore. Any dorm.

@wis75 Thanks a lot.

@wis75 Can you please give me some info on what choosing your room mate is like? I saw some app which matches you with people who have similar interests.