How do I pay UW-Madison?

<p>Yes, you read it correct! How do I pay? </p>

<p>Let me first introduce myself. I am an international student considering UW-Madison as one of my four choices. University of Wisconsin-Madison is a public university and that what gave rise to this problem. When I visited the university's website, it read:

[quote]
international students are expected to pay for their educational expenses

[/quote]

Now the problem is I am from a family background with an annual income bracket of $15000. In my country I didn't have to pay at all for my high school studies as my fees were covered up by the scholarship I got from my school. But now this is different. Now, how do I pay for an world-class education at Madison? Are the merit-based scholarships enough to back me up?</p>

<p>Besides that I have another query. There's a rumor in my friend circle:

[quote]
when you apply to colleges, the colleges can sort out applicants before you send your financial application. How? By jotting down the ones applying for fee-waiver requests. If you applied for fee-waiver, the colleges come to the decision that 'He can't pay this simple fee, so how is he going to pay the college tuition fees? I might need much aid in this time of financial recession!'

[/quote]
</p>

<p>I hope I get a clear message on the first query. And I hope we are proved wrong on the second.</p>