How Gengerous is CC with aid?

<p>I realize that the college has merit scholarships, but there are few that I would qualify for (not a resident of Colorado, not sure if I'm majoring in the sciences, doubtful that I'm a NMF, etc.)
50k a year is just hard to swallow. So, in terms of merit and financial aid, how charitable would you say Colorado College is?</p>

<p>To put merit aid into perspective, I'm a Texas residence.
SAT - 2110 (first time, will retake either in June or October)
GPA - 4.0/4.56</p>

<p>To put financial aid into perspective, I'd say my family's financial situation is stable. Parents put the college price cap at around $20,000 a year.
Very low income (around $20,000 per year) but strong assets (my parents have saved up a good sum of money.)</p>

<p>Unfortunately, aid seems to be one of the only weaknesses of CC. If you qualify based on FAFSA and CSS, then they pretty much come to the table, but your parents assets might not help you even though their income is lower. Merit Scholarships are veryfew and far between.</p>

<p>That’s disappointing. CC seemed like a good college (especially liked the block plan and location). Perhaps I’ll apply anyway and see how financial aid plays out. Thank you for answering my question.</p>

<p>You should definitely apply. Take the SAT again, and maybe a few SAT IIs to build up your stats. And apply Early Action. Merit aid is a possiblility.</p>

<p>Good advice, I’m hoping to take the subject tests before summer.
But I have to ask, why do you recommend applying Early Action? Other than increasing chances of acceptance, that is.</p>

<p>One of their big plusses is that CC does not reduce their aid package for outside scholarships. They also have the four year affordability plan - checkout the financial aid part of their web site.</p>

<br>

<br>

<p>You do not need to be a Colorado resident, major in the sciences, or be a NM finalist to qualify for a merit scholarship at Colorado College. </p>