How much do the instate students mix with the OOS ones?

I’ve taken an informal poll from the parents of 2 OOS students, one past (graduated 1 year ago) and one with kids there now.
Both mentioned that just about all their good friends come from states besides Wisconsin. I’m telling my daughter she is ridiculous to think she won’t have anything in common with the instate kids, but she is starting to have some reservations. Is she being ridiculous or is there some truth? Is there friction or lack or effort to mix?

We will be coming out for admitted students day, hopefully in February. I think it will be informative, but not shed any light on the interactions between instate and out of state students.

@wheatonmom I am a OOS Sophomore and I am happy to address your question. Overall, I have found that there is something for everyone at Wisconsin. With over 6 thousand in a freshman class, a campus of over 40 thousand people, hundreds of clubs and organizations, it would be difficult to feel there is any friction or lack of effort to mix between in state and out of state students. I am not from the Midwest but I have enjoyed meeting and becoming friends with students from rural areas of Wisconsin, to the suburbs of Milwaukee, as well as the students from neighboring states to the coastal states. The key is to get involved with what Wisconsin has to offer.
The only time I felt their may have been lack of effort to become friends with other people was during the first semester of my freshman year. Every freshman feels a sense of anxiety about being in a new place and for some it may have been the first time they were away from home. First semester freshman tended to hang with people from their high schools because it was,a sense of comfort.