How to answer the question "Do I want to be a nurse?"

<p>I'm currently struggling with how to answer the question "Do I want to be a nurse?"</p>

<p>I was super sure I wanted to be a nurse for awhile, and then A&P came along. I struggled with it a lot and barely made it through A&P I but did well in A&P II. I then felt confident again that I wanted to be a nurse. At that point, I actually started nursing school. I loved it at first, and I did well throughout the entire semester, but maybe halfway through I started questioning if nursing was what I really wanted. It didn't help that mental health wise I wasn't doing well at all. I decided to take the spring semester off from nursing, and during that time decided that I wanted to change my major...to what, I wasn't sure. Over the summer I was thinking I'd like to be a teacher...another respectable career which I have some experience in. I took this semester off partly because of mental health and partly because I'm just not sure what I want to do. I'm doing well mental health wise, and am going back to school next semester so I have to decode and answer the big question. How in the world do you do that?</p>

<p>Can you try to get some experience in health care so that you can get a clue about what it even means to be a nurse? I think that you may be having trouble deciding because you have no experience with what it is like to be a nurse. </p>

<p>An area hospital may have a program that would be helpful for you. My daughter worked in EMS for years while in high school and this helped her to have an idea about what nursing would be like. Do you know any nurses that you could talk to and ask about what they do?</p>

<p>I did one semester of clinicals and I enjoyed my time. If I hadn’t been enjoying it, I probably would’ve failed, and by the same token, I got the best grades of my life that semester even though I wasn’t doing well mental health wise.</p>