HS Sophomore In Need of Help :)

<p>Hey Everyone... I first just want to apologize that what I have to say isn't nearly as important as what most of you seniors are talking about, but I realy need some help.
I'm Nick, And I'm a sophomore at a HS just North of Minneapolis, MN.
I REALLY want to go to UW-Madison beginning in Fall 2010, and when I said REALLY, I meant it. It is by far one of the most important things in my life.
This wouldn't really be a concern, but I have run into a puddle.
Freshman Year (last year), I just really didn't care. I got a lot of B-'s, and C's, one D, and EVEN AN F. I'm not the one to blame others for my negative actions, but I had 2 really awful teachers, and they are partway to blame.
I finished Freshman Year with a 2.7 GPA. I was SO ****ED.
This year, I started taking some Honors and AP classes and I really enjoy them. I'm in all core classes.
My school has a trimester calendar. In mid NOV. we finished 1st trimester, and I got a 3.17 GPA for that trimester, and my cumulative went up to a 2.86.
So far 2nd trimester, I have a 3.9!!!! I'm really turning it around!
I got my PLAN (pre-act) back and it estimated I will get a 27-30, so that doesn't really worry me.
And extra curricular stuff is fine.. I'm REALLY athletic and I'm in a lot of leadership groups.
I have never been to uw before, but I hope to go visit it soon.
Can I still prove myself to UW-Madison that I would be a great edition to their campus, or did my mediocre year last year completely close the curtain?
HELP...HOW CAN I SAVE MYSELF?? IM SO SCARED.</p>

<p>Keep taking the hardest classes possible, keep doing well in them, and continue with your ECs. Study for your ACT or SAT, so you do well on it. Then when the time comes to apply, explain your lack of maturity freshman year, and point out how much you have grown since then. You have nothing to lose, because what's done is done. Just move forward and I think you'll be fine!</p>