IB SL Biology, Chemistry, or Physics?

I’m a sophomore in Pre-IB classes and am planning to continue with IB in junior and senior year (although I’ve heard that apparently AP classes are just as good but require less work…). I’ve already taken biology and chemistry, and I’ll be done with physics by the end of this year.

So now I’m choosing my classes for next year. My school offers SL and HL in Biology, Chemistry, and Physics. I’m leaning towards Chemistry because I find it the most interesting, but other people have said that it’s the most challenging of the three sciences. I’m also thinking about Physics especially since the teacher at my school is really good, but I don’t want to take it if the level of math involved is too complicated. I’m open to taking Biology, but I’m not a fan of dissections and am easily grossed out, so I don’t know if that’s the best class for me.

I would really appreciate it if people who have taken any of those classes would offer their opinion on their advantages or disadvantages. It would be helpful to know the amount of work each class requires and how difficult it is. Thanks!

I took SL chem last year, and found it pretty difficult, but that doesn’t hold much weight since my school does very badly on the IB tests (only 2 people in the class passed…). I think if you were good enough and interested in normal chem you would do fine. I am in SL Physics and it does not require you to have a high level of math (there is no calculus involved), but it does require you to be pretty good at algebra, manipulating equations and such. I think you would do just fine, especially since it sounds like you would be having a great teacher. As for bio, there is no reason to do it if you aren’t interested, which it kind of sounds like. I know that they do not do dissections at my school but I have not taken the class or know much about it so I don’t know if that is the norm at other places.