I'm an international student on F1 visa

Hi,
I desperately looking for any type of scholarship, financial aid and/or other types of assistantship to cover my tuition. My family income is very low and I cannot pay the out of state tuition. I pursue study in computer science @ UMD.I would appreciate any comments, thoughts, and suggestions.

Thank you for your time and help!

Have you already completed some time at UMD, or will you be starting this fall?

The UMD website is pretty clear:

As a publicly funded institution, UMD is unable to provide financial assistance to international students. You can find other options for financing your education on the Office of Student Financial Aid website.

I’m not sure this college is affordable for you.

2 Likes

How have you been paying your current tuition?

Receiving financial aid as a nonresident student is difficult.

How did you receive a visa for this school without funding?

If you can’t afford your tuition, I don’t think you can study at this university. The best funding comes from the university. Since UMD is a public school, they probably can’t afford to provide you with tuition and fee support.

1 Like

Are you a Maryland resident?

@happymomof1 can international student residents of Maryland attend community colleges at the instate rate?

Student needs to pay for housing, transportation, daily living costs and medical insurance; it doesn’t sound like that is an option.

1 Like

Have you started at UMD yet, or have you been accepted to start this coming September?

Do you already have a student visa to study in the US? Normally you need to give evidence that you can afford to study here before they will give you a visa.

1 Like

@Yasminet usually international students are required to complete a certificate of finances that details that money is at the ready to fund college here. This is done to get your student visa.