International Transfer

HI guys!

I am currently a student at a college in the United States and I am an international student . I want to transfer colleges and I will need aid. I spoke to the counsellors at a few schools and I am hopeful but one thing came to mind: they mentioned that every class year has some availability due to people transferring out and things like that. Since I would require aid I would basically be receiving the aid that they has set aside for those students who left those class years. Now, I recall being able to see first -year retention rates but I am transferring to be a junior and I am wondering how I can check this information to ensure I don’t waste my time. Thank you.

I can’t comment on the financial aid piece (and not all students receive FA or in the amount you may require) but the common data set of each school shows the number of transfer applicants and acceptances in section D.

This is going to depend upon a lot that you have not told us. Certainly some students do transfer each year. Getting some financial aid is more difficult. Transferring into one of the small handful of universities in the US that offer full need based aid for international students will be even more difficult.

If you need enough financial aid to cover essentially the full cost of your education as an international transfer student is relatively likely to require both exceptional academic and other credentials, and a very good reason to transfer, and perhaps a bit of luck.

Some things that might help us give better advice would be to know: (i) How much aid you need and how much you can afford to spend for each year of university; (ii) What your academic credentials look like (high school GPA, test scores, college GPA, …); (iii) Where you are currently; (iv) Where you would prefer to transfer to (this might be a list of schools, or a description of what sort of schools you would prefer); (v) Why you want to transfer.