Is IB helpful?

<p>I just need a straightforward answer, preferably from a college/college graduate who has knowledge of IB. Is the IB diploma weighted more than AP for U.S colleges, and what are the benefits of IB vs. AP? I'm a high school freshman in IH.</p>

<p>I’m in Year 2 of the IB program and I think that IB classes are great, but the diploma is pointless for students who wish to apply to the US.
US colleges look at your classes and grades. Therefore, they’ll see all your IB classes and how well you did in those, but they don’t care as much about your final IB exam grade or anything. For kids who want to go to the US, I recommend doing IB certificate, meaning you do IB classes without going for the diploma. You’ll be in the same classes, but you won’t have to do the EE, CAS, TOK, which are big assignments and eat up your time without really adding much to your education. And the IB diploma is currently not as valued in the US. That being said, the IB programme is currently gaining more recognition in US colleges, so it’s possible that by the time you graduate, an IB diploma will be valued at its full worth, rather than as an equivalent of AP. Right now, though, the IB diploma is viewed as an equivalent of AP, even though obtaining the IB diploma is a lot more work.
In terms of IB vs AP it depends on the class and the school. Another benefit of IB certificate instead of IB diploma is that you can take some AP classes as well.</p>