Is it too late for me to visit?

I’m an admitted student into general engineering. I haven’t had a chance to visit campus yet. I called every number I could to try to set up a campus tour over my spring break, the week after Easter. Every VA Tech person I contacted said there is absolutely no more room on any tours until late April. I believe this is because the campus tours involve taking us around on buses because the campus is so large. I cannot make it to Hokie Focus day because it overlaps with my other schools’ accepted students days. I was able to get an engineering session during my spring break, but not a campus tour or information session. My question is- is it worth it to travel to Virginia for only an hour long engineering session? I live in NY, so it would be an 8 hour drive. While visiting I could also take a self guided tour and talk to a student I know who attends VA Tech. Does this seem worth the effort, or a waste of time? It’s very difficult to make a decision without visiting campus.

If you are really interested in attending, then it is definitely worth the drive. If it’s just a maybe–then I would skip it.

We attended with two of our kids on separate occasions and my husband and I attended Tech years ago.