Is TAMs worth it and how should I prepare

Hey, I just moved to Texas this year and heard about Tams. I’ve been looking online and there seems to be a split on if it’s good or not. Some saying it’s a great place, while others saying it’s a toxic and horrible place to be. I’m currently in 7th grade , and even though it’s a bit early to worry about this I really want to be prepared. I’m currently taking all pre-ap/GT classes(know that really doesn’t matter right now but why not mention it), as well as Algebra 1. I plan to take a CBE on algebra 2 after I pass 8th grade(because my district only allows CBE on math after that) as I’m currently studying it out of school and expect to finish it by the start of next school year, might this affect my chances. What is the best way to prepare for applying? I just took the sats and here are my scores.

SAT : 1360
Math: 730
Reading : 630

@EpicPotato :
You sound like you have a very great start on being prepared for college. Great scores, high level classes, etc. Congratulations, you are ahead of many of your peers. :slight_smile:

I can only speak to the culture of TAMU: I think it is great. But it doesn’t work for everyone. Both of my daughters are Aggies, one graduated from TAMU in 2016 and is also married to an Aggie Engineer. My younger daughter is currently a Junior at TAMU.

I am not from Texas, went to college out of state from my home state, both are southern states, just not Texas. Both of the flagship univiersities in those states are much more similar than TAMU and UT are.

I had no idea about the whole “Aggie life in Aggieland” and the significance of an Aggie degree and gold Aggie ring in Texas until my oldest daughter started applying to colleges.