Is this allowed? (volunteering hours)

I work as a math and programming tutor, and I have taught for a few hundred hours by now. I am applying to some prestigious schools, and I was given the suggestion to increase my volunteer hours, since all of the time I spent studying math and programming technically counts as preparation time for volunteering. I prepare for math and programming competitions, so I am quite experienced in those fields, and I’m told that all of the time spent learning the material in the past also counts towards volunteering, because that knowledge is being passed down to others when I tutor.
The person telling me to do this is not a college admissions officer so I’m questioning whether this is even true.

Is this allowed?

1 Like

My opinion. The time you actually spend tutoring and preparing for the actual tutoring can count as volunteer hours. BUT your time studying for your own purposes is not volunteer hours. Presumably, you would need to be doing that studying anyway, right?

10 Likes

No - studying/building knowledge doesn’t count.

That you did it will likely be more impactful than the hours.

Be honest - and ensure your hours match the description of what you did.

4 Likes

Just put the hours you actually volunteered, as it is better not to exaggerate. The actual hours are not what is important, though. What is important is how did the volunteering impact the recipients or the community, and how well can you articulate that?

2 Likes

Bad advice

It’s inaccurate and misrepresentation

4 Likes