Is UCSD Regents worth it? Or is Berkeley/LA a better choice?

<p>How important are the benefits of the UCSD Regents scholarship? Are they really worth much, or is it better to Berkeley or LA, both of which are more well-known and likely more highly regarded by employers/grad schools?</p>

<p>Benefits of UCSD Regents:

• Priority enrollment (this used to be the main factor causing me to lean toward UCSD, but with AP and community college credits, does it make much of a difference?)
  • $2k/year (money isn’t a big factor; the $2k is more of a bonus)
  • College Honors Program with “appointment of an Honors Advisor”
  • Faculty Mentor program starting junior year
  • Regents Scholars Research Initiative - research in 1st quarter, subject to availability (this was also one of the more alluring benefits; though I already have research experience from a summer program, which may help me get research opportunities even if I don’t go to UCSD)</p>

<p>I’m majoring in the biological sciences at all three; currently admitted to Biochemistry & Cell Biology at UCSD, Human Biology & Society at UCLA, and Molecular & Cell Biology at Cal - might switch later (Public Health seems pretty interesting), but it’ll still be bio-related.</p>

<p>After undergrad, I plan on going to graduate school - possibly medical/pharm.</p>

<p>I’m really unsure about which college to choose! When I first found out I got UCSD Regents, I felt completely sure I’d go to UCSD; but now that I know I could also go to Cal or LA (without Regents) and after asking other people for advice, I’m not so sure anymore. Is the Regents Scholarship just hyped up?</p>

<p>I’d like some insight into this as well. I got Regents at UCD and UCSB and got into UCLA with no Regents. I’d be majoring in Engineering and am leaning toward UCLA. </p>

<p>Can’t get a real feel of the true benefits of Regents and if I’d be giving up alot by going to UCLA.</p>

<p>It was worthy for me.